Jacob Leary - Bubblegum Dystopia (full kit)

Qantas has a long history of providing opportunities for Australian artists to connect with global audiences. Their latest initiative puts current Australian artists at the heart of their business passenger experience.

Liam Snootle - No Queen Blues Unwind (full kit)

Starting May 1st, a new range of amenity kits will be rolled out across international flights with new designs being rolled out each month. With artworks named Fairy Bread, 7000 Ironbarks and Maaate, the initiative called ‘Qantas Curates’ has seen the airline work with professional Australian contemporary art curators to select artworks from 16 Australians specialising in a variety of different styles including pop culture, photography, fine art, abstract landscape, Indigenous art and textile design.


Qantas Group Executive Brand, Marketing & Corporate Affairs Olivia Wirth said the airline’s vision is to grow awareness of contemporary Australian art and give travellers a collectible piece to take with them. “As the national carrier, we’re pleased to support talented Aussies telling uniquely Australian stories through their artwork and share them with a global audience,” she said.

Kate Banazi - Adas' Algorithm

“Along with inflight pyjamas, we know amenity kits are an important part of the international Business class experience. Customers love the functionality of our kits and many use them after their flight as make-up bags, an evening clutch or to carry their mobile phones. So, the exposure is broad.”

Tom Blachford - Black Water

The amenity kits include ASPAR products by Aurora Spa (hand cream, lip balm and face moisturiser), a wrap-around eye mask in the same artwork as the kit, Colgate toothpaste, toothbrush, earplugs and travel socks.

Rachel Castle - I love the people

The collection will start with Bubblegum Dystopia by Jacob Leary on the kit for women and Liam Snootle’s No Queen Blues/Unwind features on the kit for men onboard 1 May 2017

Megan Weston - Iceland

The other artists and artworks include: Billie Justice Thomson – Fairy Bread; Bonnie and Neil – Gypsy Floral; Craig & Karl – Home; Fred Fowler – 7000 Ironbarks; Jon Campbell – Maaate; Kate Banazi – Adas’ Algorithm; Lucy Simpson – Dhina; Luke Shadbolt – North Avoca ECL 2016; Megan Weston – Iceland; Myra Yurtiwa Cooke (dec) – Lirrun; Nicole Warne – Hamilton Island 2014; Polly Pawuya Butler-Jackson – Mobile Phone Tower; Rachel Castle – I Love the people; Tom Blachford – Black Water

The Big Picture


Posted by:Jonny Clark

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s